November Stitching

After some intense work on the parking garage quilt, I took a break from the sewing room. My loser sewing machine started acting up again after I had just spent a lot of money on it, so I had to switch back to the old Elna. Yeah, the one with no thread cutter, no needle up and down button, and (eek) no walking foot. But it gets the job done and I am feeling guilty about all the times I called it names and wished for something “better”.

I remembered yesterday that the kids at church needed something to auction at their fundraiser tonight, so I made this cool scarf from a thrifted batik wrap skirt. I will be handing this over with some regret, but there is plenty of fabric around here for other scarves.

Scarf from thrifted skirt

The quilt has also seen some progress. I had to make 21 more blocks than originally planned to get the thing to the size I wanted! I joined the blocks into nine larger blocks and quilted each of them to a piece of batting. The quilting is simple due to the lack of a walking foot.

Parking garage quilt progress

Now I am sewing the large blocks together and thinking that this quilt-as-you-go method is the best thing since sliced bread. The plan is to have a finished product to show you by the end of the week.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “November Stitching”

  1. Diane Thornton Says:

    Sarah, I remember you saying you wanted to make a quilt out of that old parking garage. As for the quilt as you go, it freaks me out! Your scarf is, as always, a burst of creative genius. You inspire me daily.

  2. Gene Black Says:

    Yes, I definitely need to know how this “as you go” method works. I have one that I use and know of one that I don’t like.

  3. Sarah's sister Says:

    That is such a great combination of fabrics! Love the colors.

  4. Get Stitchy with Sarah Says:

    You can’t see any batting in these seams because I sewed all of these blocks together before quilting them to the batting. There are 8 other large quilted blocks and when I sew those together, there will be batting in the seams. I have done a few already and it seems ok so far. I used thin batting and ironed the seams flat with lots and lots of steam and Mary Ellen’s Best Press.

    I’ll show the rest of the process as I get it done.

  5. liveparadox Says:

    I’m intrigued by the quilt-as-you-go idea. On the one hand, reducing the amount of fabric one has to wrestle with at any given time is a great idea. But how do you get the seams between the blocks nice and flat, won’t they make great big bunches? Or… no. Actually, there doesn’t seem to be any batting under the seam allowances. Should have looked more closely.

    Your quilt will be lovely, by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

