Colorful Quilt Brightens a Sad Week

Last week was a tough one. Thursday, September 23 marked a year since Gwen passed away. The month leading up to it was pretty miserable, but I woke up that morning feeling grateful for Gwen’s life and most fortunate to have been a part of it. I led a discussion group at church, spent some time with my mom, went to my ballet class as usual, received many hugs and kind messages from friends and said extra prayers of gratitude for our time with our precious girl.

A bright spot in the week leading up to this dreaded anniversary was the receipt of a beautiful mini quilt from my partner in DSQ9.

DSQ9 received

Even in a dark time, this quilt managed to put a smile on my face. I love all the colors and have enjoyed looking at all the different fabrics Jen used. She said they were some of her best scraps and I’m lucky that she shared them with me! She even threw in a lot of extra scraps for me to use in future projects. As if that wasn’t enough, she also made me a zipper pouch featuring the batiks that I love so much and some yummy candy that is somehow unavailable for photography at this time.

Back of quilt and matching pouch

The back of the quilt is as pretty as the front and the quilting is different from anything I have seen before. It seems that Jen quilted the back to the batting and then added the front and bound the whole thing with no further quilting. This creates two unique looks in one quilt and I love it!

I must admit that seeing this quilt triggers some jealousy of it’s maker. Not only is Jen extremely cute and talented, but she works in a fabric store with an old school candy counter. Y’all, that is fabric and candy in the same place! With a job like that I might never go home.

This happy quilt is in my sewing room where I can see it as I work on my next project. It is a twin sized quilt based on a design found on a parking garage and it has to be finished in 16 days. Does anyone care to bet on whether I can pull it off?

5 Responses to “Colorful Quilt Brightens a Sad Week”

  1. Vickie Says:

    so so happy to read you recieved happiness to brighten your week..my goodness the time has flown,take care cheeers Vickie

  2. liveparadox Says:

    You can do it! Go Sarah! šŸ™‚

  3. Jen Osborn Says:

    oh Sarah – hearing this whole story makes me so happy that it went to you!
    I’m happy that it gave you a smile in an otherwise lousy week!

    sending you lots of love – let me know if you need some more candies šŸ™‚
    xox
    Jen

  4. Sarah's sister Says:

    Cool zipper pouch. Now quit reading this and get back to work on your imminent deadline project!

  5. Lynda M O Says:

    My money is on you to do the completion on time !~! Best of luck; will you keep us posted?

Leave a Reply

