Summer Stash Enhancement

“Enhancement” might be an understatement.

Purveyors of fabric, both online and in brick-and-mortar establishments, have been staging fabulous summer sales. In addition, I ran amok with a debit card through several fabric shops while vacationing in North Carolina. But then a textile overdose never killed anyone, did it?

I know you want to see, so get ready for some serious cotton eye candy.

From Hancock Fabrics. Three quilting weight, three home dec.

From Hancock Fabrics

From Klassy Katz in Memphis. They rarely have sales, so when the email announcement hits your inbox you had better get down there.

From Klassy Katz

From Delta Patchworks in Collierville (a Memphis suburb).

From Delta Patchwork

Lovely batiks from Hancocks of Paducah for only $6/yd.

Lovely batiks

From equilter. Some large scale prints drastically marked down.

Large scale prints

On vacation, I had a wonderful time at the Asheville Cotton Company and at Marti’s Patchwork Cottage in Black Mountain. I bought a few cute prints, but really splurged on batiks. *sigh* aren’t they beautiful?

Random prints

The motherlode!

I also visited Waechter’s Fine Fabrics in Asheville for the first time. This place is a treasure trove of quilting cottons, apparel fabrics and home dec designs. They also have an extensive selection of unique buttons. After much debate, I came away with these

From Waechter's Fine Fabrics

and this hilarious “religious” print. The Holy Trinity cracks me up. I have no idea what I will do with it, but my minister friend thought it would make a great skirt.

"holy" fabric

Father, Son and Holy Spirit

Last week I checked out the new digs of Broom Corn Fabrics, a 100-year-old Memphis home decorating store still owned by the same family. Back in the day, I used to go there with my mother when the shop was located downtown. Although the store name suggests burlap and homespun, the inventory is a colorful mix of traditional and modern fabrics. I love the prints by Westminster and Free Spirit designers such as Amy Butler, Ana Maria Hornor, Joel Dewberry and the Kaffe Collective. I picked up a yard of this wild thing just for fun.

Crazy home dec fabric

Now I am home and my bank account is depleted. But I just heard that Delta Patchworks is having a major warehouse clearance blowout on Saturday with prices as low as $5/yd AND lots of new stuff ordered at spring market. Then Ruth linked me to an insane sale at Fabric.com with Westminster prints for as little as $2.50/yd.

I suppose I had better learn to sew faster.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Summer Stash Enhancement”

  1. Angie Says:

    I hope you post when you make something with the “religious” print. So hilarious.

    And I am drooling over the gorgeous batiks.

    Have fun using all of these lovelies!

  2. sheila Says:

    You are going to be a busy girl. 🙂

  3. Adds Says:

    Yet to start a Batic collection but I’m loving those Christmas reindeers, not that I need any more fabric, I am waiting on some Kate Spain Christmas that I got from Hancocks. Love a good sale.

  4. Sarah's Sister Says:

    Yeah, you’d better get to sewing, or I’m gonna sign you up to be on the “Hoarders” show! heh. Glad you had fun running amok in NC.

Leave a Reply

