Fabric shopping in Albuquerque

We have just rolled in from a fabulous vacation to Albuquerque and northern New Mexico. I needed to be out of here for Mother’s Day, so we rented a car and went to visit some friends who had been inviting us forever.

We could not have picked a better place. While Memphis is hot, humid and lush at this time of year, New Mexico was cool, dry and very brown. At first, I felt like I was in another country, or even on another planet! The flora, fauna, architecture, and food were all so different. After I was able to quit gawking at everything, I enjoyed being there and hope to go back asap.

I hit two of the three fabric shops on the first day. Quilts from the Heart had a huge classroom, a nice selection of batiks and lots of southwestern themed fabric. Quilts Ole in Corrales was a bright shop with modern prints and an even bigger selection of batiks.

I came home with some pink/coral batiks for a project later this year,

Fabric shopping in Albuquerque

Some black and white for my collection and a few other batik colors I was missing

Fabric shopping in Albuquerque

And this cute zigzag pattern with colors of the southwest.

Fabric shopping in Albuquerque

I was also lucky enough to visit Savers for the first time. The clothes were too pricey to cut up for quilt squares, but I scored this holiday table cloth and a twin sheet with cute dots.

I went to Savers!

When we got back, there was a package waiting for me from Kathy in Montana. She made me these pretty pot holders for the 2010 Great Potholder Swap. See how well they go with our retro oven? Thanks Kathy- I love them!

They match my oven

There is a lot more to tell, so stay tuned for more vacation posts!

Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Fabric shopping in Albuquerque”

  1. calamity kim Says:

    nothing better than shopping for fabric while on vacation!

  2. Get Stitchy with Sarah Says:

    Angeliina- that zig zag is Terrie Mangat for Freespirit.

  3. angelina Says:

    love.that.zigzag.

  4. LG Says:

    So glad y’all had such a good time! Looking forward to hearing more.

  5. Laurel H. Says:

    Sounds like a great trip; love those batiks!

  6. Sarah's Sister Says:

    Those pink and coral batiks are really beautiful! Esp. the pink/orange one 3rd from the left.

  7. sheila Says:

    glad you had a great time….. love the fabrics.
    Pot Holders… super.
    takecare hugs s

  8. Audra Says:

    What a fun trip! Next time you head out there drive one hour north from Amarillo and you’ll run into us!!! Or give me a heads up and I’ll run down and meet you somewhere in Amarillo for a bite to eat.

Leave a Reply

