Shirt Quilt Progress

The shirt quilt has been moved to fast-track status to meet an impending deadline. I finished piecing the top and took it outside for a quick photo shoot before the predicted thunderstorms show up. Here’s a peek:

Shirt quilt progress

A very basic pattern, but I love all the plaids and stripes. The fabric for this quilt came from 10 thrifted men’s shirts and a bolt of thrifted chambray. Total cost was only about $21.00.

The prospect of quilting this huge thing has me quaking in my boots. It’s about 55″ X 65″ and by far the largest thing I have ever made. We will probably be going with straight lines so that I won’t end up in the crazy house.

Wish me luck…..

ED:  See the finished quilt here!

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Shirt Quilt Progress”

  1. Angie Says:

    The quilt is wonderful!

    Was thinking of you this weekend and hoping you are safe and dry.

  2. Sarah's Sister Says:

    This quilt looks very cozy and snuggly. It makes me want to wrap up in it and take a nap!

  3. Emily Says:

    Beautiful! I love how the colors are a little crazy all together, but you can see they’re all fairly standard shirt colors too, neat!

    Maybe if you divided the quilt in quarters, corner to corner, and did diagonal lines in each one separately, you could have a sort of a mirror of the plaids in the fabrics, plus the diagonal lines wouldn’t be so long to quilt?

    really nice work!
    -Emily

  4. Adds Says:

    Love it. I would quilt in lines, up and down and across using the smaller squares as a guideline maybe 1/4 inch inside each block, iykwim? Then they will be seen as a feature and the sashing left less quilted will draw attention to the little blocks.

  5. beth Says:

    I love this quilt! lovely. Can’t wait to see it quilted!

  6. Rachael Says:

    This is such a great quilt! I love that you’ve recycled the fabrics and the colours are beautiful! I’m sure your quilting will be wonderful too!!!

  7. Get Stitchy with Sarah Says:

    Great minds think alike Laura- I had diagonal lines in mind too!

  8. LauraJ Says:

    My advice is to pin it lots and lots! You’ll do fine! I see diagonal quilting, it would bring out everything! It’s a lovely quilt!!

Leave a Reply

