Fabulous Fabric News!

The Memphis area has a new fabric store!

New Fabric Store in Town!

Local quilter and fiber artist Arlene Blackburn has opened Delta Patchwork in Collierville, a fast growing suburb east of town. This is mostly an online business (go shopping!) with monthly open warehouse days for the locals. If you live in the area, sign up here so you won’t miss a chance to see the fabrics in person.

raiding the warehouse
Diane (the Left Out Knitter), me, owner Arlene Blackburn

Through a friend-of-a-friend connection, I was able to shop the warehouse and drool over bolts and bolts of modern up-to-date fabrics that are not generally available in our area. When I walked in and saw it all I started vibrating! There was Amy Butler, Kaffe Fassett, Martha Negley, Phillip Jacobs, Brandon Mably, Heather Bailey, Anna Maria Horner, Art Gallery, Lecien, Studio E and others at very nice prices made possible by extremely low overhead.

Nirvana
Have we died and gone to heaven?

It was exciting to find that the inventory at Delta does not overlap with that of the other quilt shops in our vicinity. Now Mid-South fabric fiends now have an expanded selection rather than just more places to buy the same thing. The shops in our area are all locally owned businesses and we want them to thrive, even if it is at the expense of our bank accounts. But, I suppose we must all make sacrifices for the sake of economic stimulus in this challenging economy 😉

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Fabulous Fabric News!”

  1. Arlene Blackburn Says:

    I loved having you and Diane visit the warehouse! It was fun to take a little time to imagine all of the projects I could make. Not enough time in the day! Thanks again for coming to take a look and spread the news. We appreciate the biz and hope that you can make it back for Warehouse Sale Day on Sat. March 27th. 🙂

  2. Get Stitchy with Sarah Says:

    Sheila, I am buying. But if this place were not so far from the house I would be lobbying for a job! And Laura J- hahaha I sucked you in! But then I knew you needed an Easter present, so i was really doing you a favor 😉

  3. LauraJ Says:

    Oh you had to go and do it eh? You had to post the link to the shop too. As soon as I put that boy on the bus I went and perused the shop. I oggled and almost fainted at all the beautiful fabrics they have to offer. I splurged and ordered a few Japanese prints. Let’s call it an early Easter present to me shall we? 🙂

  4. sheila Says:

    how fabulous Sarah. LOvely photo… are you buying or selling. if the later what a nice job.

Leave a Reply

