Glad To Be Back!

I took a long break.  Nobody told me that the second year of grief is often worse than the first.  It was.

But I finally feel like blogging again, my sister has been nagging me mercilessly and there have been some exciting new stitchy developments that have necessitated my return to this space.

You see, I have business cards with this address on them.   I ordered them from Moo.com and used Flickr photos of various projects from the past.  They turned out so well that I ordered some mini cards to use as price tags in a show I’m doing next month.

Yes, a show!  I did my first show last year and it was successful.  So I decided to do it again this year.  I’ll show you some of the merchandise in future posts.

AND because I am teaching!  A friend opened a small but fabulous fabric shop in May and invited me to work there occasionally and to teach anything I wanted.  (Check it out at Sew Memphis.com.)  So far I have taught purses and pillows for beginners, fabric jewelry for girls, tooth fairy pillows for kids, t-shirt upcycling, pajama pants and half of a two-part Christmas tree skirt class. In December I‘ll be teaching aprons, sock monkeys and drawstring gelt bags for Hanukkah.

Here I am in action.  Can you tell how much I love what I am doing?  (Please note that since this photo was taken I have lost 20 pounds!)

 

I have also made several custom pillows for clients of an interior designer friend of mine.  Here is the most recent.  The client wanted a pillow to match a quilt for a baby boy’s room.  She scanned and enlarged this horse from the quilt  The designer purchased the white and tan fabrics, gave me some direction and cut me loose.  Here is the result.  I fused and zigzagged the fabrics and embroidered the horse’s facial features and the birds’ legs.   I was worried about zigzagging around all of those curves, but setting my machine to the slowest speed setting made it manageable.

                                                          

And so, as sands through the hour glass, the stitching (and seam ripping) continues………

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “Glad To Be Back!”

  1. bingsy Says:

    Hi Sarah! Bingsy from livejournal here. We interacted there, but also we share a good friendship with the fabulous Jenny Factory. I lost my husband of 13 years just a few months after you lost Gwen. This is the anniversary month, and I know that grieving is a strange journey indeed and both predictable and completely unpredictable. Bits and pieces of your journey reminds me of mine – the travel/adventure/peaceful retreats. I did the same. I am finding that now is my time for me to sit at home and face – well a little – the loss. It’s so painful, even after three years, especially so maybe. But it’s good to see your bright face and to hear your tales. I am glad to be a reader and participant, though I don’t really sew yet. I am able to appreciate. Love, Bingsy

  2. Penny Says:

    Hey, Sarah! I got an email notification from facecrack that you “Liked” a wall post of mine. I haven’t been there since August and I am not sure if I will go back (maybe just to delete my account). I would have emailed you but discovered I do not have your email address. However, I have visited your blog a few times over the past years and thought this would be as good a place as any to send you a message, and was nicely surprised to see you have blogged again. Your cards are darling and I just love the custom horse pillow with the little birds. Have you swapped any mail art recently?

    • Get Stitchy with Sarah Says:

      Great to hear from you Penster! My email is getstitchy AT yahoo.com. I need to get an update on your glamorous and exciting life. :)

  3. Erica Maniez Says:

    I’m so glad to see you back posting again! I never gave up hope and kept checking back. I’m glad you have so many soul-feeding things in your life. Big hugs, Sarah!

    • Get Stitchy with Sarah Says:

      Aww thanks Curlita. You are right- i have some soul feeding things going on, but I am getting old and they all wear me out! How are your boys?

  4. AudraG Says:

    LOVE the cards with your projects on them!

  5. Sister Says:

    FINALLY!!! :)

  6. aubirdwoman Says:

    so nice to have you back with us Sarah. Remember the healing will take time and go through lots of stages. could you email me your snail addy please. hugs sheila from downunder

    • Get Stitchy with Sarah Says:

      Hey Sheila, I love your new kitchen :) Let me know your e-mail address and I’ll give you my snail address.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.